Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Personal tools
Sections
You are here: Home / Site Guides / Editing / Page Drafts and Versions

Page Drafts and Versions

by admin last modified Jul 09, 2011 07:23 PM
New versions of pages can be developed while the old versions are still visible.

The portal system provides a few facilities for helping avoid multiple people editing the same page at the same time, and enabling released versions of pages to be preserved, undisturbed, for public view while new versions are being edited and internally reviewed.

There are two layers by which concurrent edits are avoided. Page locking is the lower layer. When someone is editing a page the system marks the status of the page as being locked, so that others concurrently attempting to edit the same page can be alerted to the fact, and avoid inadvertently creating a competing version.

The main reason to know about locks is because abandoning edits to a page without cleanly Cancelling tends to leave the page locked, creating a false caution for the next page editor. The message is that it is best to abandon your edits by using the cancel tab at the bottom of the edit area, rather than just navigating away from the page, so that the page will be marked as unlocked.

If you do encounter a locked page, the locker will be identified. You can contact them if there is any reason to suppose that they do, in fact have edits they're going to soon save. If the lock is days old, it's more than likely that you can just select to "break" the lock and start your edit.

In general you will be using the next layer, checking out a working copy of the page you want to edit, and editing that as a separate document. Check-out and check-in are in the Actions pull-down menu of the content-well edit bar, and pages that have been checked-out are locked and present notices indicating the checkout to visitors with edit privileges. Subsequent check-in by the editor removes the locks and notices, completing the edit.

  • publication states - publication status that affects whether or not a page is visible to the general (unauthenticated) visiting public
    • private, submitted for publication, published
    • depending on the user's privileges, they may submit documents they edit for approval or set it directly to the published state.
    • working copy - check out / check in - a facility so that someone can edit things away from public view and submit the result for review by a content manager for official release. this is the critical mechanism that people need to learn to use.

  • versioning - see the revision history of a page, compare versions, resurrect an older version
Document Actions
Add comment

You can add a comment by filling out the form below. Plain text formatting. Web and email addresses are transformed into clickable links. Comments are moderated.